November 2018

Six New Locations Added to National Register of Historic Places

History Nebraska is pleased to announce six Nebraska locations have been listed on the National Register of Historic Places. The Domme-Haase Farmstead in Madison County, the George E. Dovey House and Velosco V. Leonard House in Cass County, the George A. Marshall House in Washington County, the Stanton Carnegie Library in Stanton County, and the Cozad Downtown Historic District were considered and selected by the National Parks Service for listing.

Marker Monday: Dobytown

Our Historical Markers across Nebraska highlight fascinating moments and places in our state's past. 

Today we focus on the Dobytown, a frontier town that catered to the multitude of soldiers, freighters, and travelers whose "needs" weren't being met within nearby Fort Kearny.

Become a History Nebraska Member Today

Learn More