Select Page

The Nebraska Hall of Fame was established in 1961 to officially recognize prominent Nebraskans. The Hall of Fame honors people who were born in Nebraska, who gained prominence while living in Nebraska, or whose residence in Nebraska was an important influence on their lives and contributed to their greatness. Busts of Hall of Fame members are displayed in the state capitol and other commission-approved locations.

The Nebraska Hall of Fame Commission, which has members appointed by the governor, names people to the Hall of Fame. Until 1996, the commission names one person every two years, with some occasional exceptions. Due to legislation passed in 1998, no more than one person can be added to the Hall of Fame every five years. That same legislation also requires that a person cannot be considered for the Hall of Fame until at least 35 years after their death.

For more information on the Nebraska Hall of Fame, please contact Jill Dolberg, Interim Director of History Nebraska and Secretary of the Nebraska Hall of Fame.

Nebraska Hall of Fame News

Nebraska Hall of Fame Commission Meeting for Final Selection – September 12, 2022

Click here for meeting agenda.

In accordance with the Open Meetings Act, the Nebraska Hall of Fame Commission will meet virtually to conduct business for the selection of a nominee into the Nebraska Hall of Fame and a public location is provided at Nebraska History Museum, Gilmore Room, 131 Centennial Mall N, Lincoln, NE 68508 on Monday, September 12 at 2:00 p.m. Central Standard Time.  An Agenda is available during normal business hours by calling (402) 471-6661. 


Google Meet joining info

Or dial: ‪(US) +1 225-417-1067‬ PIN: ‪123 128 560‬#‬‬

More phone numbers: https://tel.meet/zzr-ijsr-rfj?pin=4495366950934

Hall of Fame Commission Minutes

Nebraska Hall of Fame Members

George Norris

(Inducted 1961)

John J. Pershing 

(Inducted 1963-64)

Willa Cather

(Inducted 1962)

Edward J. Flanagan

(Inducted 1965-66)

William Jennings Bryan

(Inducted 1969-70)

William Frederick Cody

(Inducted 1967-68)

Bess Streeter Aldrich

(Inducted 1971-72)

J. Sterling Morton

(Inducted 1975-76)

John Gneisenau Neihardt

(Inducted 1973-74)

Grace Abbott

(Inducted 1975-76)

Nathan Pound

(Inducted 1975-76)

Mari Sandoz

(Inducted 1975-76)

Standing Bear

(Inducted 1977-78)

Edward Creighton

(Inducted 1981-82)

Robert W. Furnas

(Inducted 1979-80)

Susette LaFlesche Tibbles

(Inducted 1983-84)

Loren Eiseley

(Inducted 1987-88)

Gilbert M. Hitchcock

(Inducted 1985-86)

Hartley Burr Alexander

(Inducted 1989-90)

Dwight Palmer Griswold

(Inducted 1993-94)

Arthur Weimar Thompson

(Inducted 1990)

Nathan J. Gold

(Inducted 1995-96)

Charles E. Bessey‌

(Inducted 2007)

Red Cloud

(Inducted 2000-01)

Alvin Saunders Johnson

(Inducted 2014)

Nebraska Medal of Honor Recipients

Thomas R. Kimball

Inducted 2019