Certified Local Governments (CLG)

Certified Local Governments (CLG)

Partnerships to promote local preservation between: 


To qualify, a city or county must:

  • establish a historic preservation ordinance that includes protection for historic properties
  • create a preservation commission to oversee the preservation ordinance and the program
  • provide for public education and participation, including nomination of properties to the National Register of Historic Places
  • conduct and maintain a survey and inventory of historic properties.
  • have access to a city staff person to serve as a liaison to the commission and the State Historic Preservation Office


Why should your government become a Certified Local Government?

Your city or county is eligible for grants to assist local preservation programs. You can use the grant for:

  • surveys
  • National Register nomination preparation
  • publications
  • staff support
  • workshops
  • events

Contributing buildings within local landmark districts may be eligible for preservation tax incentives without listing on the National Register of Historic Places.

Becoming a CLG gives your government entity

  • another tool when considering planning, zoning, and land use issues using your local landmark process and survey programs
  • ability to preserve structures that reflect the community's heritage
  • a way to promote pride in your community's history
  • technical help and training from our office.
  • access to a network of local, state, federal, and private preservation groups.


What are Nebraska's Current CLGs?

  • Auburn
  • Fairbury
  • Lincoln
  • North Platte
  • Omaha
  • Plattsmouth
  • Red Cloud
  • Sidney


Examples of past grant funded projects:

Auburn Owner's Manual

Lincoln Wyuka Cemetery Driving and Walking Tour

Plattsmouth Intensive Level Survey

Sidney Historic Preservation Handbook


Contact us to start the process of becoming a CLG.

Yearly memberships start at $32

Learn More