Fort Robinson History Center

Native Americans, Indian agents, African-American Buffalo Soldiers, the K-9 Corps, German Prisoners of War—these are just some of the people whose lives intersected with Fort Robinson. Explore this complex past in exhibits in the 1905 post headquarters building that trace the history from the post's role guarding the Red Cloud Agency (1874-77) through the housing of World War II German PWs (1943-46).

See fascinating objects such as

  • the only known dog kennel from the K-9 Corps of World War II
  • marksmanship medals earned by Buffalo Soldier Caleb Benson between 1902 and 1909
  • nineteenth-century Sioux objects related to the Red Cloud Agency

Discover more through more historic structures and sites   

  • 1904 blacksmith shop
  • 1908 veterinary hospital
  • 1887 adobe officers' quarters
  • 1875 guardhouse and adjutant's office
  • old post cemetery
  • prisoner of war camp site

A self-guided tour book and many books on military and western history are available for purchase in the Landmark Store.

Front of Fort Robinson Museum building

Plan your Visit

Fort Robinson Exhibit

Visitor Hours: Hours vary during offseason. Please call ahead.

Admission: $3.00 adults

Kids under 18 are free

Fort Robinson Vet Hospital

Group rates available. 

Please call ahead to make reservations. 

308-665-2919

3200 W. Hwy. 20, Crawford, NE

3.2 miles west of Crawford, NE on US Highway 20

Game and Parks Building

Facilities operated by the Nebraska Game and Parks Commission

Visit www.outdoornebraska.gov/fortrobinson for information about attractions, group events, 

Fort Robinson back of museum building

Fort Robinson History Center

PO Box 304

Crawford, NE 69339-0304

308-665-2919

Buffalo Soldier

Buffalo Soldiers

From 1885 through 1907 the majority of the troops stationed at Fort Robinson were African American.

The first, of the Ninth Cavalry, arrived in 1885. The U.S. Army was then totally segregated, with two cavalry regiments composed of black soldiers. Fort Robinson was regimental headquarters for the Ninth Cavalry from 1887 to 1898. In the winter of 1890 the Ghost Dance movement turned attention turned to the Pine Ridge Indian Reservation in nearby South Dakota. The army was called in to monitor the volatile situation. The first soldiers sent to Pine Ridge were from Fort Robinson. Soldiers from the post were also sent to help quell several outbreaks of civil disorder during the 1890s.

After 1900 the fort continued as regimental headquarters for the Tenth (the other black cavalry regiment), Eighth, and Twelfth Cavalry regiments. In 1916 the remaining units at Fort Robinson were transferred for duty along the Mexican border. The post was virtually abandoned throughout the World War I years.

Yearly memberships start at $32

Learn More