Nebraska Schoolmasters’ Club [RG5078.AM]


RG5078.AM:  Nebraska Schoolmasters’ Club

Scrapbook:  1899-1915
Nebraska:  Professional educators’ club
Size:  1 volume


The Nebraska Schoolmasters’ Club held their first meeting in Lincoln, Nebraska, on January 13, 1899.  The club’s main mission was to discuss statewide educational issues.  Founding members of the club included various University of Nebraska educators and administrators, including J.W. Crabtree, George E. MacLean, Dr. Lucius A. Sherman, Dr. Charles E. Bessey, Dr. Henry B. Ward, Dr. A. Ross Hill, and Dr. George W.A. Luckey.  David B. Perry of Doane College and J.A. Beattie of the State Normal School at Peru represented other higher learning institutions in the state.  Additional members representing public schools in the state included W.R. Jackson, J.F. Saylor, A.A. Reed, J.W. Dinsmore, Carroll G. Pearse, A.H. Waterhouse, and John H. Miller.

The club had a very limited membership in the beginning, but it eventually opened its membership to more and more members over the years.  The organization continues to be active today.  For more detailed background information about the club, see:

Sawyer, R. McLaran, “The Nebraska Schoolmasters Club, the First Quarter Century,” Nebraska History 63 (1982): 58-70.


The collection consists of one scrapbook containing meeting programs, member lists, correspondence and receipts from the Nebraska Schoolmasters’ Club.  The materials date from 1899 to 1915.

Note:  See the library collection for a set of cataloged meeting minutes [370.6 N275].  The UNL Archives & Special Collections holds additional records relating to the Nebraska Schoolmasters’ Club.


Scrapbook, 1899-1915

Acc #: 1998.0274


Subject headings:

Education -- Nebraska
Nebraska Schoolmasters’ Club
Teachers -- Nebraska


TMM      12-17-2018

Become a History Nebraska Member Today

Learn More